The Weidenhammer Blog

How NIST Categorizes the Cloud

Posted on: January 30th, 2014 | Category: Cloud Computing

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is an organization that provides thought leadership and guidance around the Cloud Computing paradigm.   You can find out more about NISTs role in the evolution of standards and guidance at their Website:  NIST categorizes the cloud with these five characteristics:

  1. On-demand Self Service
  2. Broad Network Access
  3. Resource Pooling
  4. Rapid Elasticity
  5. Measured Service

Three Service Models –

  1. SaaS – Software-as-a-Service
  2. PaaS – Platform-as-a-Service
  3. IaaS – Infrastructure as a service

Four Deployment Models of Cloud –

  1. Private Cloud
  2. Public Cloud
  3. Community Cloud
  4. Hybrid Cloud

Learn more about Weidenhammer’s cloud services.

Rick Phillips

Rick Phillips

Richard P. Phillips is Weidenhammer’s , Vice President, Compute Solutions. He oversees the overall management of the line of business specializing in Network Infrastructure Solutions, Professional Engineering Consulting, IT Management Consulting, Managed Services, and Cloud IT Solutions. Phillips is a graduate of McCann School of Business and Lehigh Data Institute and a member of the Managed Service Provider University (MSPU). Holding numerous systems certifications with IBM, and manufacturing consulting certifications with MAPICS and APICS, he has earned Sales Professional and Technical Sales Professional certifications with VMware. Under his management, Weidenhammer has received the MVP Award from business partner Ingram Micro representing the Eastern Region of the United States.